May 23, 2024
BCCI Fired All the National Selectors of Men's Cricket Team

BCCI Fired All the National Selectors of Men’s Cricket Team

In a shocking move, the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) has sacked the entire selection panel of the men’s cricket team today!

Further, the board is now inviting eligible persons to apply for the new selection panel, who’d be governing the future of the men’s senior cricket team. This comes after the Indian men’s team lost in several of the ICC tournaments in critical stages over the last year.

BCCI New Selection Panel

While we all are expecting significant changes to the men’s senior cricket team, BCCI has fired the entire national selection panel concerning this and invited new ones to apply!

Announcing this move on Twitter, the BCCI secretary Jay Shah – who has also been elected as the head of the Finance committee at ICC – said they’re looking to fill 5 new positions of National Selectors (Senior Men).

Eligible people should have played at least

  • 7 Test matches; OR
  • 30 First Class matches; OR
  • 10 ODI and 20 First Class matches.

Further, they should have retired from cricket at least 5 years ago and haven’t been a member of any Cricket Committee for at least 5 years. Interested people with the above qualifications can apply for the national selector post by November 28, 2022, closing at 6 PM IST.

The current national selection panel before being fired included Chetan Sharma (North zone), Harvinder Singh (Central Zone), Sunil Joshi (South Zone), and Debasish Mohanty (East Zone). None have been from the West Zone after Abbey Kuruvilla’s tenure ended.

As a national selector for the senior men’s team, everyone would have a tenure of 4 years of service. This could be extended too in case needed. Well, the just-fired committee had the shortest period served as national selectors, with some being appointed in 2020 and some in 2021.

This move comes after the Indian men’s team was knocked out of the T20 World Cup 2022 in the semifinal stage and in the league stage of the 2021 edition while also losing the World Test Championships final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *