April 16, 2024
IPL 2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Retention List Revealed

IPL 2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Retention List Revealed

While we wait for the next iteration of the Indian Premier League to begin, the franchises are revealing their retained players list – with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) being the latest.

As per reports, the SRH management has released their skipper Kane Williamson, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, and Sean Abbott for IPL 2023 while retaining the below players.

Rahul Tripathi, Glenn Phillips, Aiden Markram, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, Karthik Tyagi, and Fazalhaq Farooqi.

SRH is likely to pick their new captain in the open auction rather than appoint someone to the existing team. Though they have Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the most experienced player, the management is less likely to assign a bowler as their skipper this time.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Mumbai Indians Retention List

Well, we have Aiden Markram as another option too, but we have to wait to see who the SRH management chooses now. On the other hand, Kane Williamson’s poor (if not slow) performances in the T20 cricket ditched him from the team – he has been a part of for many years.

Williamson took charge as the skipper after the fall of David Warner, whose leaves had been controversial. And with SRH performing poorly in the last IPL edition, the franchise had to look for another skipper.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Full Retention List of All TeamsĀ 

Releasing Williamson, Pooran, and Shepherd left over INR 42+ crores in SRH purse now, which they may use for buying their new skipper and reliable Indian players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *